2018 Award Winners

Recognising and celebrating outstanding achievements in the project management profession

The Project Management Institute of New Zealand (PMINZ) are pleased to announce the winners for the 2018 NZ Project Management Awards.

Now in their 10th year, the New Zealand Project Management Awards have grown in quality as PMINZ has pursued the recognition of outstanding project management achievements as a part of its vision for raising the profile of the project management profession. 

The exceptional standard of both entrants and winners stands testament to the increasingly important role that project, programme and portfolio management plays in business in New Zealand. The winners demonstrated excellence in delivering results through strong leadership, strong use of methodology, and a strong growth mindset that learns from mistakes.

The 2018 Winners of the NZ Project Management Awards are:

Falcon Training Project Manager of the Year

  • Robert Rankin from Mercury

Quest Apartment Hotels Volunteer of the Year

  • Tania Cotter, Central Branch

The University of Auckland – Faculty of Engineering Emerging Project Manager of the Year

  • George Abbott, Fonterra

Tregaskis Brown Public Sector Project of the Year

  •  Ministry of Education: Education Sector Logon Upgrade Project

Project Plus PMO of the Year

  • The University of Auckland’s Strategic Programme Office (USPO)

Psoda Project of the Year

  • Beca: Watercare Mangere BNR project

The winners were announced at the Conference Awards Dinner on Thursday 20th September as part of the New Zealand Project Management Conference, on 19-21 September 2018 at  SkyCity in Auckland.

 We are very grateful to the Award Sponsors, who continue to support and champion the very ‘best’ in project management.